ATF/APS National Board Candidate Support Program


National Board Certification is a voluntary, advanced teaching credential available nationwide for most preK-12 teachers. Certification is achieved upon successful completion of an assessment program designed to recognize accomplished teachers who meet high standards based on what teachers should know and be able to do.

Support is available to first time, advanced, and renewal candidates.

 

National Board Informational Session

If you are considering pursuing National Board certification, you should attend this overview. You will receive information about the process, costs involved and the variety of support that ATF can offer you as a candidate.

Informational meetings run from 4:30-6:00pm at the Union Office. Informational sessions are free and an RSVP is not required.

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Thursday, January 5, 2017

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Thursday, May 4, 2017


ATF/APS’s National Board Candidate Support Programs

The ATF/APS National Board Program supports candidates in completing the 4 components making up the certification process. The components include written entries that feature teaching practice and an assessment piece that includes constructed responses and test questions that assess content knowledge. Certification is a rigorous process and teachers may choose to complete the process using the multiyear model now available. Support for first time candidates includes large group meetings, small group meetings, feedback on writings and tech help.

 

First-Time Candidates

Component 1 -$125, All classes are held from 4:30-6:30pm at the ATF Office.
Download Component 1 Form Here

Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Component 2 -$250, All classes are held from 4:30-6:30pm at the ATF Office.
Download Component 2 Form Here

Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Component 3 -$350, All classes will be held from 4:30-6:30pm at the ATF Office.
Download Component 3 Form Here

Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017

Component 4 -$250, All classes will be held from 4:30-6:30pm at the ATF Office.
Classes in February, March and April will be held at the Lincoln Complex, 912 Oak St. SE Building M, 87106.
Download Component 4 Form Here

Thursday, December 1, 2016
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017


Support includes:

Monthly large group meetings and monthly small group meetings with a Candidate Support Provider to answer specific questions and provide feedback on writings and tech support for uploading component(s) and video-taped evidence.

Candidate fees: Component 1-$125, Component 2-$250, Component 3- $350, Component 4- $250

Renewal Candidate Support

Support is provided to National Board Certified Teachers entering their 8th or 9th year of certification. Recertification includes analysis and reflection of their growth since certification and requires videotaping and work samples.

Informational meetings for Renewal Candidates are scheduled for November 2 and November 16, 2016 from 4:30-5:30pm at the ATF Office.

Click here to download the renewal information flyer

Click here to download the renewal registration form

Candidate fees: Renewal $250

Candidate Support Providers (CSP)

We are looking for National Board Certified Teachers to support candidates as they pursue their certification. Our CSPs will complete training through the National Boards, participate in an internship and participate in leadership meetings. Please come to our Candidate Support Provider meeting to find out how you can be part of this program.

Candidate Support Provider Meeting: Monday, September 12, 2016 from 4:30-6:00pm at the ATF Office.

If you have any questions, please contact Ritamarie Theiler at theiler@aps.edu or Andrea Quintana at Andrea.Quintana@aps.edu.

ATF has been providing comprehensive, quality support for National Board candidates for a decade!