ATF’s Endorsed Candidates Win Big!

New Mexican voters flocked to the polls in record high levels in the 2022 midterm election. ATF- and AFT NM-endorsed candidates won up and down the ballot. But, the real winners are the state’s educators and the students and families we serve. The outcome was a resounding victory and a mandate to continue the work of creating a world-class public education system for all New Mexicans. Your union thanks you for your participation and activism. Grassroots action is how we win elections.

Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham and Lieutenant Governor Howie Morales will continue to guide the state’s executive branch, supported by public officials who have demonstrated great leadership for years.

Our Congressional delegation could not be stronger advocates for working people and our public schools. Congratulations to U.S. Representatives Melanie Stansbury and Teresa Leger Fernandez, and we are very hopeful for Gabe Vasquez.

Most especially, we want to congratulate the ATF Unified COPE’s endorsed candidates, many of whom are current or retired ATF members. We look forward to the continued advocacy we’ve come to rely on from NM Representatives/ATF Members G. Andrés Romero, Joy Garratt, Liz Thomson, Christine Trujillo, Debbie Sariñana, Natalie Figueroa, and Miguel Garcia.

Congratulations to our endorsed allies who we can count on to support public school educators and public education in the State Legislature: Representatives Javier Martinez, Art De la Cruz, Patricia Roybal Caballero, Day Hochman-Vigil, Antonio “Moe” Maestas, Cynthia Borrego, Gail Chasey, Janelle Anyanonu, Meredith Dixon, Eleanor Chavez, Marian Matthews, and Pamelya Herndon. We have our fingers crossed that Rep. Charlotte Little will prevail in a re-count of her district.

The future is bright for our public schools. Revenue is up. Constitutional Amendment 1 passed in a landslide, promising more stability in funding for our schools.

We will be communicating with you, our members, as we work to set our union’s priorities in the upcoming 2023 Legislative Session.

Share this post

Recent Posts


Pellentesque id velit ut ligula maximus gravida venenatis in turpis. In eu lacinia libero. Aenean nec aliquet dui. Sed tristique convallis sapien, semper porttitor mauris scelerisque et. 

Subscribe for our monthly newsletter to stay updated