Endorsed Candidates and When and Where To Vote & Get Involved!

Here’s Everything You Need To Vote For & Help Pro-Public Education/Pro-Worker Candidates Elected: Our Endorsed Candidates, Volunteer Opportunities, Election Time Line & Early Voting Locations

Our Endorsed Candidates!

American Federation of Teachers Endorsements for U.S. House of Representatives

CD 1: Melanie Stansbury

CD 2: Gabe Vasquez

CD 3: Teresa Leger Fernandez


AFT NM Statewide Election Endorsements

Governor: Michelle Lujan Grisham

Lieutenant Governor: Howie Morales

Secretary of State: Maggie Toulouse Oliver

Attorney General: Raul Torrez

Public Lands Commissioner: Stephanie Garcia Richard


New Mexico Supreme Court
Position 1 – Justice Julie Vargas
Position 2 – Justice Briana Zamora


New Mexico Court of Appeals
Position 1 – Judge Gerald Baca
Position 2 – Judge Katherine Wray


Constitutional Amendment #1
YES on Amendment for Early Ed. & K–12 Funding


ATF Unified COPE Endorsed Candidates for NM HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES


HD 10 – G. Andrés Romero*^

HD 11 – Javier Martinez*

HD 12 – Art De la Cruz*

HD 13 – Patricia Roybal Caballero*

HD 14 – Miguel Garcia*^

HD 15 – Day Hochman-Vigil*

HD 16 – Antonio “Moe” Maestes

HD 17 – Cynthia Borrego

HD 18 – Gail Chasey*

HD 19 – Janelle Anyanonu

HD 20 – Meredith Dixon*

HD 21 – Debbie Sariñana*^

HD 24 – Elizabeth “Liz” Thomson*^

HD 25 – Christine Trujillo*^

HD 26 – Eleanor Chavez#

HD 27 – Marian Matthews*

HD 28 – Pamelya Herndon*

HD 29 – Joy Garratt*^

HD 30 – Natalie Figueroa*^

HD 68 – Charlotte Little


Denotes incumbent*

Denotes ATF, AFT-NM, Member/ Former Member #

Denotes Active Union ^


Get Involved: Volunteer For These Endorsed Candidates Who Are Running In Tightly-Contested Races

Who is my State Representative? Click here to find out.

These ATF members’ campaigns are running tight races and need volunteers to support them. Click on the House District # to see the map:

Rep. Pamelya Herndon, House District 28

  • Contact Cole DeLaune, Field Director


Rep. Joy Garratt, House District 29

  • Volunteers meet every Saturday 9-9:30am for coffee and snacks at 10308 Marin Drive, NW, 87114, then canvass.
  • Coordinator: Karlyne Nordholm


Rep. Natalie Figueroa, House District 30


Janelle Anyanonu, House District 19


Cynthia Borrego, House District 17

  • https://cynthiaborrego.com/
  • Weekly canvass, coffee and breakfast every Saturday 9:30-11:30, at 8731 Springhill Dr. NW, 87114
  • Canvass M-F, 1:30-3:30pm, Canvass Sundays, 1-3 pm
  • Call/email 505-239-1557/cynthiaborrego.com


Election Timeline

As our AFT president Randi Weingarten said, “this is a critical time to join forces because everything is at risk: our freedoms, our democracy, our schools and colleges, our basic economic safety net.” Her thoughts are punctuated by a NBC News poll in which voters ranked threats to democracy as the number one issue facing the country.

We all must vote—to protect our public schools and to defend our democracy and our freedoms.

All the information you need on voting can be found at: https://www.berncoclerk.gov/elections/

October 22 – November 5, 2022 –  Early Voting and Same Day Registration begins Monday to Saturday, most locations open 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.

November 3, 2022- Deadline for Absentee Applications to be received.

 November 8, 2022 – Election Day: 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Absentee Ballots are due in the clerk’s office no later than 7:00pm


Early Voting Locations

Twenty (20) Early Voting Convenience Centers will be open for the 2022 General Election in Bernalillo County from October 22 to November 5. Most locations will be open Monday to Saturday 10 am to 7 pm unless otherwise noted *.

Same Day Registration will be available during Early Voting and Election Day.

98th & Central Shopping Center – 120 98th St NW, Suite B101 & B102, 87121

Andalucia Shopping Center – 5600 Coors Blvd NW, Suite C-5, 87120

Bernalillo County Visitor Center – 6080 Isleta Blvd SW, 87105

Caracol Plaza – 12500 Montgomery Blvd NE, Suite 101, 87111
Central Mercado – 301 San Pedro Dr. SE Suites B, C, D & E, 87108

Cottonwood West – 10131 Coors Blvd NW, Suite C-02, 87114
Daskalos Center – 5339 Menaul Blvd NE, 87110
*Desiderio Community Center – 117 Tribal RD 7036 To’Hajiilee 87026 October 24- November 4, Mon. – Fri. 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Four Hills Shopping Center – 13140 Central Ave SE, Suite 1420, 87123

Holly Plaza Shopping Center – 6600 Holly Ave NE, Suite B-6, 87113

*Isleta Elder Center– Building 79 Tribal RD 40, Isleta NM 87022 Tues. – Sat. 10 a.m. – 6 p.m

Los Altos Plaza – 4200 Wyoming Blvd NE, Suite B-3, 87111
Los Ranchos Villa – 6601 4th St NW, Suite U, 87107
Mobile Voting Unit – State Fair Grounds 87108
Petroglyph Plaza – 8201 Golf Course Rd NW, Suite D-1, 87120
South Valley Multi-Purpose Senior Center – 2008 Larrazolo Rd SW, 87105

The Shoppes at 6001 San Mateo – 6001 San Mateo Blvd NE, Suite B-3, 87109

Tijeras City Hall – 12 Camino Municipal, Tijeras, NM 87059
University of New Mexico– Student Union Building, Louie’s Lounge, 87131

West Bluff Center – 5211 Ouray Rd NW, Suite B, 87120

Share this post

Recent Posts


Pellentesque id velit ut ligula maximus gravida venenatis in turpis. In eu lacinia libero. Aenean nec aliquet dui. Sed tristique convallis sapien, semper porttitor mauris scelerisque et. 

Subscribe for our monthly newsletter to stay updated