Press Release: ATF At-Large Officer Election Results

Albuquerque Teachers Federation Announces ATF At-Large Officer Election Results


May 5, 2022

Contact: Dwayne Norris

505-262-2657 or

Albuquerque – The Albuquerque Teachers Federation (ATF) has released the following statement about their recent election of union officers:

“1,563 members of the Albuquerque Teachers Federation voted in the 2022 At-Large Officer Election that featured a contested race for the office of ATF President.

“Incumbent president Ellen Bernstein garnered 1,216 (78%) votes to 347 for her opponent, Adrian Nogales (Garfield MS). This total represents nearly double the number of votes cast in the most recent contested union presidential election in 2016.

“ATF President Ellen Bernstein said about the results:

I want to say thank you to each ATF member who participated in this election, and I am honored to be re-elected as President of our union. These strong results show we are on the right track as we advocate for our profession and working conditions. We have so much work ahead of us, and I am energized and ready to continue to fight alongside each one of you on behalf of our schools and communities across Albuquerque.

“ATF union members Cyndie Ives (Mountain View ES), Tracy Nichols (John Baker ES), and Jason Krosinsky (McKinley ES) volunteered to serve on the Election Committee. The committee verified participants’ union membership and tabulated votes well into the evening, certifying the results after counting concluded around 10pm.

“Bernstein will join four other officers-elect, all of whom ran unopposed. These officers will serve a two-year term on the ATF Executive Council: Executive Vice President Sean Thomas (Eldorado HS), Vice President of Membership & Involvement Dwayne Norris (currently on leave from APS to work as ATF Organizer), Secretary Megan Sisty (Kennedy MS), and Treasurer Celeste Hernandez (Lew Wallace ES).”


Share this post

Recent Posts


Pellentesque id velit ut ligula maximus gravida venenatis in turpis. In eu lacinia libero. Aenean nec aliquet dui. Sed tristique convallis sapien, semper porttitor mauris scelerisque et. 

Subscribe for our monthly newsletter to stay updated